Alabama Small Business Commission



The Alabama Small Business Commission is hereby created as an appointed group of state small/independent business owners responsible for advising governmental entities. The Commission will serve as an advisory body in formulating policies, encouraging innovation, and discussing issues critical to the economic growth of small/independent businesses and their interests in the State of Alabama. Furthermore, the Commission will promote policies to assist new business start-ups and expansion of existing businesses.


Quarterly meetings of the Alabama Small Business Commission will be called by the Chairperson. The Chair of both the Commission and Advisory Committee will be the State Director of the National Federation of Independent Businesses (NFIB). An annual report shall be presented to the Governor by the end of each calendar year beginning in 2015. The Governor will appoint an Executive Director to manage the responsibilities of the Commission (consideration to locate under the Department of Commerce). Members of the commission shall be business owners or their designee representing businesses with 50 or fewer employees. Commission appointments are for two years with a two year reappointment option. The 30 member commission will be appointed as follows: 14 appointments serving at the pleasure of the Governor, 3 appointments by the Lieutenant Governor, 2 appointments by the Speaker of the House, and 2 appointments by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate. Visit the members page for more information.

Advisory Committee

The Alabama Small Business Advisory Committee is created in conjunction with the Commission to provide technical assistance and serve as an information resource to the small business membership as they explore best practices and areas of reform including current rules, regulations and existing state statutes. The Advisory Committee members shall attend all meetings of the Alabama Small Business Commission as a non-voting body. The Advisory Committee will provide guidance on the proposed recommendations as set forth by the Alabama Small Business Commission. This 10 member advisory committee shall include the commissioner of Revenue Department or designee, commissioner of Department of Labor or designee, Secretary of Commerce or designee, Current President of the Alabama Association of Chambers of Commerce, a representative of the Economic Development Association of Alabama (EDAA), a representative of the Association of County Commissions, a representative of the League of Municipalities, a representative of the Utility Industry, and a representative of the 2-year College System, with additional appointments as needed. Visit the Advisory Committee page for more information.

Read Act 2015-450 regarding the Alabama Small Business Commission and Advisory Council


Get Atlas Updates

Sign up to be notified when new features are added to the Atlas Alabama site.